Follow Us

Chicago Gifted Community Center

Creating connections - Creating community

In Chicago and the suburbs            

Log in

Twitter Chats

September 05, 2015 2:36 PM | Linda Zanieski (Administrator)

Global #gtchat Powered by TAGT is a Twitter chat held weekly. Each week features a different topic and transcripts of the chats are available. Participating is a nice way to get a boost of support. Here is the complete description from their web site..



Global #gtchat Powered by the Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented is a weekly chat on Twitter that takes place on Fridays at 7PM ET/6PM CT & 4 PM PT in the U.S. Find your time zone here. On the third Sunday of each month, #gtchat moves to 4 PM ET /3 PM CT and 1 PM PT in the U.S. (your time zone here) to accommodate the schedules of those who are unable to attend on Fridays. For 1 hour, parents, educators, advocates and experts in the field of gifted and talented gather to share resources, links, authentic life experiences and insights about gifted issues.

Founded in 2010 by Deborah Mersino, this successful Twitter chat is now moderated by Lisa Conrad who may be followed on Twitter @gtchatmod. The #gtchat Community includes archived transcripts at Storify, a Facebook Page and this Blog where weekly posts summarize each chat and include all the links provided during the chat. The conversation does not end with the last tweet of a chat. More than 1,200 tweets are devoted to the #gtchat hashtag each week. Just search “#gtchat” on Twitter to see what’s happening in the gifted and talented community.

A wide-range of topics are discussed each week. Past topics have included: twice-exceptional gifted children, perfectionism, multicultural gifted education, executive functioning, parenting gifted children, differentiation, acceleration, how to write an individual education plan for a gifted student and much more.

At #gtchat, we also are proud of the many guest experts in the field of gifted education who have joined us to discuss their area of expertise. Past guests have included Dr. Lynette Breedlove (Executive Director of Gatton Academy), Dr. Lynne Kenney (The Family Coach), Dr. Joy Lawson Davis (Bright, Black and Gifted), Dr. Scott Barry Kaufman (Ungifted), Calista Frederick-Jankowsi (Davidson Young Scholars), Lisa Van Gemert (American Mensa), Ian Byrd (Byrdseed Gifted) and many more.

Have we piqued your interest? Join us on Twitter by following @gtchatmod and the hashtag #gtchat. See you on Fridays at 7/6 C!



About cgcc

The Chicago Gifted Community Center (CGCC) is a member-driven 501(c)(3) non-profit organization created by parents to support the intellectual and emotional growth of gifted children and their families. 

Become a member

We  are an all volunteer-based organization that relies on annual memberships from parents, professionals, and supporters to provide organizers with web site operations, a registration system, event insurance, background checks, etc. 

Contact us

info@chicagogiftedcommunity.org

© Chicago Gifted Community Center

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software